.summer in…summer OUT.

.SUMMER READINGS.

I only have a few weeks left of summer before fall quarter of college starts again. Considering the fact that I’ve been procrastinating, relaxing, relaxing, relaxing, and oversleeping, I need to gradually adjust myself back into school mode. I tried to be an early bird, but that sleeping cycle just wasn’t working out for me once summer came along and swept away that lifestyle temporarily. So adieu to my laziness, though it sure was nice, because I need to fulfill some of my short-term goals before I return for the fall.

I continued with some of my readings from last summer. Now that my library fines were finally paid off, YES, I checked out a few inspirational, informative, and thought-provoking (or so I hope at least) books:

Till We Have Faces, The Problem of Pain, The Four Loves by CS Lewis
A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity by Bill O’Reilly

I’ve also been reading the Bible, praying that I will come to comprehend as much as I can as the Holy Spirit works through me, along with The Latehomecomer by Kao Kalia Yang. I started The Latehomecomer last summer, but was unfortunately unable to finish it as school began. It’s definitely a good read so far, giving me an insight into my Hmong culture and background. These are the few books on my ‘to read-list’ for now because the more there are, the less likely I’ll be flipping the pages between them. May these readings refresh my intellect and inspire me before school comes around the corner.

.MUSIC.

I’ve been listening, on repeat, to an upcoming artist from Jay-Z’s Roc Nation record label, Hugo. First off, to be signed onto the same label as Jay-Z should definitely spark curiosity. According to my sister, Hugo was and is a former Thai rock singer and actor. I watched the trailer of a scary movie he made with the beautiful Thai actress Sirita Jensen, better known as Rita, and listened to some of his band Siplor’s music. He’s also married to a Thai actress who portrayed one of the teachers in Rita’s lakorn called Jan Euy Jan Jao (which is one of my all-time favorite lakorns). Anyways, I stumbled upon his music through my sister actually after hearing his gonna spread you like butter, give you my bread (bread and buttersong). It’s an ingenious simple, catchy tune that I happen to like very much. As simplistic as it may seem to me, at the same time it’s also not, due to its uniqueness. He simply gives off this 60’s and 70’s vibe, but somehow is able to modernize it. I don’t really know what to think about it except that I sure am hooked. I’m more fond of his song Disappear, where I read that Beyonce heard and liked it enough to put it on her album. Beyonce’s version is angelic and simply engulfs one into the whole song. However, I prefer Hugo’s original version. The melody, arrangement, lyrics, his voice, the simplicity of it all got me once again. Anxiously awaiting his debut album.

disappear

bread and butter

I’m a fan of Thai music, and will have to say I’m saddened by the fact that though I’ve heard of his band before, I’ve never actually listened to them. I really enjoyed this song and cute music video though. Recognizing some of the actors, they look way young here.

Ruk Pen Chen Dai

.OTHER FREE/NON-FREE TIME.

– learning and practicing a very special song for my best friend’s upcoming birthday next weekend
– thanks to my dear Matthew for the guitar chords.
– family =)

Leave a Reply

